Craft Talk

Best of the Net 2017 Poetry Nominees

It is our immense pleasure to nominate the following pieces and writers for their work to be included in the Best of the Net Anthology, a project of Sundress Publications.

PARTRIDGE BOSWELL, nominated for his poem “Flying home after the protest” TTR 3.1

Partridge Boswell Mt Battie DSC_0586Recipient of this year’s Edna St. Vincent Millay Poetry Prize for his poem “Flying home after the protest,” Partridge Boswell is the author of Some Far Country, winner of the Grolier Poetry Prize. His poems have recently surfaced in The Gettysburg Review, SalmagundiThe American Poetry ReviewGreen Mountains ReviewHayden’s Ferry Review, and Forklift, Ohio. Co-founder of Bookstock literary festival and the poetry/music group Los Lorcas, he teaches at Burlington Writers Workshop and lives with his family in Vermont.

ELSEWHERE ON THE INTERNET:

LISA MECHAM, nominated for her poem “Trespassing”  TTR 2.3

Lisa Mecham writes a little bit of everything and her work has appeared in Amazon’s Day OneCatapult, and The Collapsar, among other publications. She has served as an editor, advisory board member, and reader for various literary magazines, and as a social worker, she writes grants for social justice oriented non-profits.

A Midwesterner at heart, Lisa lives in Los Angeles with her two daughters where she’s finishing a book about mental illness in the suburbs; think: “The Shining” meets “Revolutionary Road.”

ELSEWHERE ON THE INTERNET:

ALYSSE McCANNA, nominated for her poem “It’s Not Like the Movies” TTR 3.1

alysseAlysse Kathleen McCanna is currently pursuing her PhD in English at Oklahoma State University. She is the Associate Editor of Pilgrimage Magazine and received her MFA in Writing and Literature from Bennington College in 2015. Her work has appeared in or is forthcoming from poets.org, Lunch Ticket, Barrow Street, Boulevard, and other journals.

ELSEWHERE ON THE INTERNET:

KYLE ADAMSON, nominated for his poem “Retrograde” TTR 3.2

Kyle_17

Kyle Adamson has an MFA from the Bennington Writing Seminars and a BFA from Hamline University. He is the winner of the AWP Intro to Journals Award in poetry, a Pushcart nominee, and a finalist in the Consequence Poetry Prize. His work can be found in the Water~Stone Review, Alaska Quarterly Review, the Beloit Poetry Journal, and others. He served in the Marine Corps infantry and deployed twice to Iraq. Kyle lives in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

ELSEWHERE ON THE INTERNET:

ADRIAN POTTER, nominated for his poem “RX for the Blues” TTR 3.1

asp

Adrian S. Potter writes poetry and short fiction. He is the author of the fiction chapbook Survival Notes (Červená Barva Press, 2008) and winner of the 2010 Southern Illinois Writers Guild Poetry Contest. Some publication credits include North American Review, Jet Fuel Review, Obsidian, and Kansas City Voices. He blogs, sometimes, at http://adrianspotter.com/.

ELSEWHERE ON THE INTERNET:

Adrian S. Potter | Writer Website

KIM NORIEGA, nominated for her poem,Postcard to My Younger Self Beneath the Apple Trees” TTR 3.1

Kim_Paris(1) (1)

Kim Noriega is the author of Name Me published by Fortunate Daughter Press. Her poems have appeared in journals and anthologies including: American Life in PoetryParis-Atlantic, and Split Lip.  She was a finalist for the 2016 Edna St. Vincent Millay Poetry Prize, and a semi-finalist for the 2016 James Baker-Hall Memorial Prize in Poetry. Kim grew up in Cleveland, Ohio and still loves apple-blossom showers in spring and Vera’s Bakery at the famous West Side Market for Hungarian nut roll at Christmas. She lives in San Diego where she heads San Diego Public Library’s family literacy program.

ELSEWHERE ON THE INTERNET:

And the WINNER Is …

The Tishman Review is pleased to announce that final judge Linda LeGarde Grover has selected the short story “Confluence” by Adam Kotlarczyk as the WINNER of the 2017 Tillie Olsen Short Story Award!

 

Adam Kotlarczyk
Adam Kotlarczyk

Adam Kotlarczyk’s fiction has been nominated for a Pushcart Prize. His stories have appeared in such publications as The Tishman Review, The First Line, Alt Hist, Dual Coast Magazine, Dovetales Literary Journal, With Painted Words, and SQ Mag. Adam has written articles and produced scholarship for publications including The Illinois Association for Gifted Children Journal and Notes on American Literature. He recently completed his first novel, a fantasy epic. Adam has a Ph.D. in English and teaches literature and writing at the Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy, a public residential high school near Chicago for gifted and talented students.

You can read more of Adam’s writing here:

“Prison Ghost Tours, Inc.” in With Painted Words

The Super Sea Trade League Strike Force (TM)” in Cahoodaloodaling

Outbreak” in SQ Mag

Big Teacher” in The Tishman Review 2.2

Congratulations, Adam!

 

Tillie Olsen Short Story Award 2017 Special Mention by Linda LeGarde Grover

Oshini by Grace Singh Smith

Tillie Olsen Short Story Award 2017 Semi-Finalists

Sangfroid in Two Movements by Lee Kvern

How Poor People Decorate by LB Johnston

Vacancy by Keren Heenan

Boat People by Y.L. Fein

Make Your Mother Happy by billy lombardo

The Road to Leongatha by Alex Reece Abbott

Let Mythical Beasts Flourish by David Armstrong

Addition by Ksenia Lakovic

The Nebraska Hula by Kendall Klym

Somebody Else’s Christmas by Shayne Laughter

The Paring Knife by Brady Huggett

Cindy Jack and the Town Drunks by Markus Egeler Jones

Crocodile in the Elevator by Gail Schwartz

Such Sweet Thunder by David Norman

The Star Spiders by Douglas Thiele

We Began to Live by Jennifer Gravley

Drenched by Israela Margalit

The Easy One by John Maki

TillieOlsen
Tillie Olsen

 

Thank you to everyone who entered the contest. 

The Tishman Review 3.3 Launches on July 30th with the Winning Short Story, the Special Mention, and two of the Semi-Finalists! Upcoming issues will also host other semi-finalists. Fabulous stories to knock your slippers about and make sure we remember Tillie Olsen.

Best Small Fictions Winner 2017

Congratulations to Randall Brown!

Randall Brown

 

Randall’s flash fiction “What a Beautiful Dream” will be published in Best Small Fictions 2017, guest edited by Amy Hempel. “What a Beautiful Dream” appeared in the July 2016 issue of The Tishman Review.

Randall Brown is the author of Mad to Live, a collection that sold out in a month and was reprinted by PS Books as a Deluxe Edition. His work appears in Best Small Fictions 2015 and 2017, The Rose Metal Press Field Guide to Writing Flash Fiction, The Norton Anthology of Hint Fiction, and Grey House’s Critical Insights: American Short Story & Critical Insights: Flash Fiction. He has been published and anthologized widely, both online and in print, in places such as American Short Fiction, Mississippi Review, Cream City Review, Harpur Palate, and Chicago Quarterly Review. Also, he’s been a finalist or place-winner in a number of contests, including Tin House’s Master Plotto Contest, Alligator Juniper’s National Writing Contest, Press 53’s Flash Fiction Contest, and Glimmer Train’s Short Fiction Contest; and his writing has been nominated for O’Henry, Best of the Web, Million Writers, and over a dozen Pushcart awards. He is the founder and managing editor of FlashFiction.Net, Matter Press, and The Journal of Compressed Creative Arts. He received his MFA from Vermont College and now teaches in Rosemont College’s MFA in Creative Writing Program, after a three-year stint as the program’s director.

Read More of Randall’s Work:

Disintegration by Randall Brown

http://rkvryquarterly.com/stick-figure-suicide-by-randall-brown/

Distance

https://static1.squarespace.com/static/5845d70920099ec07a093985/t/588aa6c4ff7c504c63aafe73/1485481668282/Brown.pdf

 

Best Small Fictions 2017 Winner

Congratulations to Oscar Mancinas!

Oscar’s flash fiction “Tourista” will be published in Best Small Fictions 2017, guest edited by Amy Hempel. “Tourista” appeared in the October 2016 issue of The Tishman Review.

Oscar Mancinas is the proud son of Mexican immigrants. He obtained his MFA in fiction from Emerson College, and he’ll start his PhD in Transborder Studies at Arizona State University in the fall. You can find his fiction at Queen Mob’s Teahouse, Cosmonauts Avenue, and, of course, The Tishman Review. His poetry can be found, or is forthcoming, in Blue Mesa Review and Hayden’s Ferry Review. He also contributes (semi-)regularly to latinosbelike.tumblr.comBother him on Twitter @oscar_wildin.

Oscar

 

 

Poem of the Day for National Poetry Month

Happy National Poetry Month!

Tune in here everyday for the Poem of the Day from TTR, featuring works from some of our greatest contributor-poets.

Sunday April 30, 2017: FLYING HOME AFTER THE PROTEST by Partridge Boswell, TTR 3.1

Saturday, April 29, 2017: POSTCARD TO MY YOUNGER SELF BENEATH THE APPLE TREES by Kim Noriega, TTR 3.1

Friday, April 28, 2017: IT’S NOT LIKE THE MOVIES by Alysse McCanna TTR 3.1

Thursday, April 27, 2017: POETS WITHOUT WATCHES by V. Hansmann, TTR 3.1 

Wednesday, April 26, 2017: BORDER PUMPKINS by Kaitlin LaMoine Martin, TTR 2.4

Tuesday, April 25, 2017: BOOT CAMP by Ron Riekke, TTR 2.4

Monday, April 24, 2017: THE MAN IN BLUE ORDERS GUINNESS AND A PLAIN FILLET by Chloe Stricklin, TTR 2.4

Sunday, April 23, 2017: TRESPASSING by Lisa Mecham, TTR 2.3

Saturday, April 22, 2017: PRISON JANITORIAL by Tyler Erlendson, TTR 2.3

Friday, April 21, 2017: RUMBLE by Ed Doerr, TTR 2.3

Thursday, April 20, 2017: LARCHWOOD, IOWA by Dylan Debelis: TTR 2.3

Wednesday, April 19, 2017: A LESSON IN ANEMOLOGY by Tonya Sauer, TTR 2.2

Tuesday, April 18, 2017: POSTLUDE by Adrian Potter, TTR 2.2

Monday, April 17, 2017: MOORE STREET, DUBLIN, 2006 by Jean Kim TTR 2.2

Sunday, April 16, 2017: FIELD by Elijah Burrell, TTR 21.

Saturday, April 15, 2017: DRINKING WITH SPIDERS by Jim Gustafson, TTR 2.1

Friday, April 14, 2017: NOT THE WAR by Jessica Wallace: TTR 2.1

Thursday, April 13, 2017: GREEN ROOM by Willa Carroll, TTR 2.1

Wednesday, April 12, 2017: FALLING, FALLING by Frank Modica, TTR 1.4

Tuesday, April 11, 2017: COMING APART IN PUERTO VALLARTA by Elizabeth Gibson, TTR 1.4

Monday, April 10, 2017: MOHAWK VALLEY by Bethany Bowman, TTR 1.4

Sunday April 9, 2017: HORSE LUBBER by Carrie Naughton, TTR 1.4

Saturday, April 8, 2017: INTERIOR WITH SNOW by Shevaun Brannigan, TTR 1.3

Friday, April 7, 2017: CENTRAL PENNSYLVANIA by Nicole Santalucia, TTR 1.3

Thursday, April 6, 2017: BOAT PRAYER by Karla Van Vliet, TTR 1.3

Wednesday, April 5, 2017: LEAVING FORT CARSON by Larry Narron, TTR 1.3

Tuesday, April 4, 2017: CONVERSATION ON THE BALCONY by Tom Holmes,  TTR 1.2

Monday, April 3, 2017: I SLIPPED THROUGH A SHADOW by Alisha Erin Hillam, TTR 1.2

Sunday, April 2, 2017: TO FLOAT by J. Adam Collins, TTR 1.2

Saturday April 1, 2017: GROOM by Ace Boggess, TTR 1.2

2016 storySouth Million Writers Award Winner

Congratulations to Lee L. Krecklow winner of the 2016 storySouth Million Writers Award!!

AuthorHeadshot

Lee won this year’s storySouth Million Writers Award for his short story “The Son of Summer and Eli.”

You can click here to read Lee’s fabulous story in The Tishman Review 1.2 : The Son of Summer and Eli .

Lee L. Krecklow is the author of The Expanse Between (2017, Winter Goose Publishing). He’s lived his whole life in the Milwaukee area, earning his bacehlor’s degree from UWM, where he focused on film studies, English and journalism. He was the winner of the 2016 storySouth Million Writers Award for his story The Son of Summer and Eli (The Tishman Review 1.2). Other recent work has been included in Eclectica, Oxford Magazine, Midwestern Gothic, and Storycord.

 

expansebetweencover

When former writer and social recluse Thomas Stone witnesses through his window a violent fight between his neighbor and her boyfriend, the scene ignites memories that, years earlier, inspired his only celebrated novel. Revitalized, he writes what he witnessed and, for weeks after, watches his neighbor ceaselessly, secretly following her when she leaves her home, using her to inform his “fictional” character. But when contact with her is threatened, Thomas panics and begins pulling any strings he can to propel his story—his creation—toward a conclusion on his own terms.

“Krecklow delves deep into the issues of lust, morality, and the mirage of privacy in these
pages—his captivating characters are at once unsympathetic and unflinchingly human.”
-Sara Rauch, Editor, Cactus Heart Press

“Krecklow’s voice clamors for a truth, one which comes from the edges of near misses and modern relationships.” -Jim Warner, Host, Citizen Lit

 

About The Expanse Between

Release Date: May 9th, 2017
List Price: $13.99 Print / $5.99 eBook
ISBN: 978-1-941058-61-9
Language: English
Page Count: 245
Genre: Literary, Suspense, Noir
Formats: Paperback (6” x 9”), Kindle, Nook
Distribution: Ingram

Where to Buy:
Bookstores order via Ingram.
Readers order via barnesandnoble.com, amazon.com, Kindle Store and Nook Store

 

2016 Edna St. Vincent Millay Poetry Prize Winners and Finalists

CONGRATULATIONS to OUR WINNERS!

We’re thrilled to announce the following poems and poets as winners and finalists in our

2016 Edna St. Vincent Millay Poetry Prize:

First Prize

wins $500 cash prize, publication in TTR 3.1, and major bragging rights

Flying home after the protest

by Partridge Boswell

Second Prize

wins $100 cash prize, publication in TTR 3.1, and major bragging rights

Sovereignty

by John Sibley Williams

 

Honorable Mention

wins $50 cash prize, publication in TTR 3.1, and major bragging rights

The Grind

by Melissa King Rogers

Finalists

receive publication in TTR 3.1 and bragging rights

Yearnings by Valerie Bacharach

It’s Not Like the Movies by Alysse Kathleen McCanna

If My Body Were a Country Meadow Edged by a Shadowed Wood by Karla Van Vliet

Postcard to My Younger Self Beneath the Apple Tree by Kim Noriega

Poets without Watches by V. Hansmann

Riding with Anne Sexton by Jen Rouse

RX for the Blues by Adrian S. Potter

A Stockyard Liturgy by D.G. Geis

Fannie by Marri Champié

Peripeteia by Stephen Linsteadt

Calling off the Wedding by Samuel Piccone

All of these poems, and so much more, can be found in the January 2017 issue of The Tishman Review, which is available to read online.

Ebook version and print version available for purchase as well.

The Best Small Fictions Nominations

IndigoBunting

 

Here are our nominations for The Best Small Fictions 2017:

 

“What a Beautiful Dream” by Randall Brown, Vol. 2, Issue 3

“Tourista” by Oscar Mancinas, Vol. 2, Issue 4

“El Niño” by Cari Scribner, Vol. 2, Issue 2

“Burnt Springs, Alabama” by Catherine Moore, Vol. 2, Issue 2

“The Death of the Indigo Bunting” by Karin L. Frank, Vol. 2, Issue 2

Best of luck to our 5 nominees!

Winners will be announced in September 2017. The 2017 anthology will be guest edited by Amy Hempel! See Braddock Avenue Books for submission criteria.

TTR Pushcart Nominations

paper-1100254_1920

The Tishman Review has nominated these pieces for Pushcart prizes. Most are available for reading in our archives:

Valerie Fioravanti for the short story “Loud Love” from Vol. 2, Issue 3

Cecele Allen Kraus  for the essay “Ground Cover” from Vol. 2, Issue 3

Simone Martel for the short story “Pinko Paula and the Preppy Plague” from Vol. 2, Issues 3

Lisa Mecham for the poem “Trespassing” from Vol. 2, Issues 3
READ WHAT ROXANNE GAY SAYS ABOUT MECHAM’S “TRESPASSING!”

Adrian Potter for the poem “Postlude” from Vol. 2, Issue 2

Phillip Sterling for the short story “Factory Outlet” from Vol. 2, Issue 4

Our sincerest congratulations!

 

Free Fall

kennedy-778262_1920

by Winona Winkler Wendth

On November 22, 2013, I rolled into a familiar parking space. I had been sitting there fifty years ago when an announcer crackled and hissed through an AM car radio that the president was dead.

This time, I sat in my car and looked across the campus where decades before I had attended school. The school had changed radically: the campus was bare, not only because of the tundra-like landscape, but also because the school had closed—no students, no teachers, only a single groundskeeper. Near desolation. But the essence of that place had remained: global warming notwithstanding, the air was as cold as it had been; the odor of early winter was still in the air, the ground frigid but not frozen; the sky was overcast. I could smell November—the end of the year, but not quite.

A sense of place is not so much a combination of memories and retrofitted significance as it is a sensibility, a re-creation of a moment that carries odor and temperature, texture, and a light peculiar to that place, regardless of what might have happened there. Sometimes, these sensory flashbacks come to us uninvited; sometimes we can encourage them. But we have little control over what they do with us.

My grandmother followed me while I walked past a bakery in Prague, long after she was no longer on this planet; the ghost of my mother was at my shoulder, not long ago when I sat by a wood fire in New Hampshire and caught a whiff of stale coffee reheating rooms away on a stove; damp straw almost always takes me back to the Orient and a tiny tatami-floored home crawling with cats and babies; just looking at a bottle of Mateus gives me a headache—not because it’s cheap booze, but because, entirely sober, I slipped on an icy stair, hit my head, and suffered a week-long headache around the Christmas I had discovered the stuff; sometimes, my back hurts, too—muscle memories of responsible porch shoveling through the remainder of that winter.

I must write about the buzz, the slip, the ache, not the endless, emotionally frozen months in Wentworth, New Hampshire.

A mouthful of the salty, mono-textured foodstuff that is a mainstay of institutional cafeterias takes me to my school lunches and then to next period’s algebra class with Mr. Wateverizhamewuz. And the boy whose name I’ll never forget who sat next to me, reeking of Jade East and failing the course. I must write about the boy, the cheap cologne, the scribbles on the desk in the hard-chaired classroom, not about feeling damaged by a romantic mistake.

Sometimes, the sting of those tiny, icy snowflakes typical of New England winters reminds me that I’m old and tired and sends me back into the house; but sometimes it invites me back into my childhood and for a few moments, at least, depending on half a dozen other impressions, I have all the energy in the world.

I must write about the sting, the sharp air.

On that day in November 1963, I admit that I thought little of the president, or Dallas; I was sixteen. However overcast and chilly the moment, I was sixteen and could count on new beginnings and possibilities, including the possibility of cutting English class.

I remembered what that felt like.

This is what a writer must open herself to—that instant that speaks itself, that place whose concrete information creates, then opens a trap door and drops us into a messy accumulation of sensory memories that make us who we are.

*****

Photo on 3-24-13 at 2.03 PMWinona Winkler Wendth is a co-founder of the Seven Bridge Writer’s Collaborative in Lancaster, Massachusetts, runs writing workshops, and mentors a wide assortment of writers, both published and (as yet) unpublished.  Both her fiction and essays are found online and in print in a variety of journals and has been featured on NPR’s “Three-Minute Fiction.” Wendth holds an MFA from the Bennington Writing Seminars.